What is NATO and its member countries? NATO Full Form.

What is NATO? Tension between Russia and Ukraine is at its peak. A war can break out between these two countries at any time. European superpowers want to settle the tension between these two countries peacefully. The reason for this tension that has arisen between Russia and Ukraine is Ukraine’s announcement of joining NATO. Russia does not want NATO forces to gain access to its neighboring country, Ukraine. Russia considers Ukraine’s joining NATO to be a threat to its security, as Ukraine shares a border with Russia.

After hearing this news, this question must have come in your mind that what is this NATO and what is the work of NATO? Therefore, in today’s article, I will share with you all the information related to NATO, after reading which you will get answers to all the questions related to NATO. So let’s move ahead and know about NATO .


What is Nato.

NATO is a treaty-based intergovernmental military organization consisting of 30 independent countries in North America and Europe. NATO stands for North Atlantic Treaty Organization . The establishment of NATO was initiated when France and the United Kingdom signed the “Treaty of Dunkirk” in March 1947 to form an alliance in case the Soviet Union attacked Germany.

nato kya hai

Over the next few years, the treaty was expanded and more countries were included in NATO. This is known as the Washington Treaty which was signed in April 1949 . The purpose of this organization is to protect the collective security of its member countries.

What is the purpose of NATO?

NATO was established after World War II. Its purpose is to ensure peace in Europe, to promote cooperation among its member states, and to protect their independence. All this was done in the context of countering the threat posed by the Soviet Union at that time. In 1949, the Treaty of Coalition Establishment in Washington was signed by a dozen European and North American countries. It commits its allies to democracy, individual liberty and the rule of law as well as the resolution of disputes.

Importantly, the treaty stipulates the idea of ​​collective security, that is, in the event of an attack on any one friendly country, all friendly countries would be considered an attack. The Atlantic Treaty Organization ensures that the security of its European member states is inseparably linked to that of North American member states. In addition, the organization provides a unique platform for dialogue and cooperation across the Atlantic.  

Which are the member countries of NATO?

The member countries of NATO include 30 countries whose names are as follows:

1. Albania

2. Belgium

3. Bulgaria

4. Canada

5. Croatia 

6. Czech Republic 

7. Denmark 

8. Estonia 

9. France 

10. Germany

11. Greece 

12. Hungary 

13. Iceland

14. Italy

15. Latvia

16. Lithuania 

17. Luxembourg 

18. Montenegro 

19. Netherlands 

20. North Macedonia 

21. Norway 

22. Poland 

23. Portugal 

24. Romania 

25. Slovakia 

26. Slovenia 

27. Spain 

28. Turkey 

29. United Kingdom 

30. United States

What is the full name of NATO? – NATO Full Form.

The full form of NATO is ” North Atlantic Treaty Organization “. Means ” North Atlantic Treaty Organization “.

NATO Structure .

The structure of NATO is complex and multifaceted. Decision -making is done by the North Atlantic Council (NAC) and representatives of member countries also sit on the Defense Policy and Planning Committee (DPPC) and the Nuclear Planning Group (NPG) . Below this, the Secretary General of NATO directs civilian international employees, which are divided into administrative departments, offices and other organizations. There are also several responsible committees for NAC, DPPC and NPG which oversee the operational and standardization agencies of NATO.

The NATO Military Committee provides advice and assistance to the NAC in military matters. The Defense Planning Committee , which directs its output to the Division of Defense Policy, is a nominal civilian department that works closely with the International Military Staff of the Military Committee.

All agencies and organizations are integrated into either civilian administrative or military executive roles. Most of the functions and roles they perform directly and indirectly support the security role of the entire coalition. 

Who is the Secretary General of NATO?

The current Secretary General of NATO is Jens Stoltenberg , the former Prime Minister of Norway . He assumed his office on 01 October 2014. Stoltenberg’s mission as Secretary-General was extended for a further four-year term, meaning he would lead NATO until September 30, 2022.

When was NATO formed?

NATO was established in the year 1949 by the US, Canada and other Western European countries to provide collective security against the Soviet Union.

Where is the headquarters of NATO?

The headquarters of NATO is located in Brussels, Belgium .


I hope you must have liked my article “ What is NATO and what are its member countries ” . I have tried my best to explain every information related to NATO Full Form in simple words so that you do not need to go to any other website regarding this subject.

If you liked this information or got to learn something new, then please share it on other social media networks like whatsapp, facebook, telegram etc.

Leave a Comment